### 2024 DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI CRITERIA

Arcola Alumni Association is seeking nominations for 2024 Arcola High School Distinguished Alumni honorees. April 20, 2024 is the deadline for nominations.

Nomination forms are available at Arcola Public Library, Arcola First Bank, First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust and at the alumni association website at <a href="http://www.arcolaalumni.org/">http://www.arcolaalumni.org/</a>. Forms may also be requested from Arcola Alumni Association board members.

### **2013 Charter Distinguished Alumni Honorees**

Modesta L. Scott (AHS 1919)
Eunice Collins Sourla (AHS 1927)
Robert C. Coombe (AHS 1933)
Thomas B. Blagg (AHS 1938)
Robert H. "Popeye" Pullen (AHS 1938)
John Philip Wesch (AHS 1947)
Carol F. "C.P." Pullen (AHS 1949)
Byron Lloyd "Brad" Bradford (AHS 1956)
DeLane "Dee" Ware Lindenmeyer (AHS 1956)
Robert N. Arrol, M.D. (AHS 1957)
Nancie King Mertz (AHS 1970)

### **2014 Distinguished Alumni Honorees**

Elmer Sherman "E.S." Allen, Jr., M.D. (AHS 1927) Bobby Gene Ghere (AHS 1943) Russell S. Ghere (AHS 1943) James Edward "Ed" Fidler (AHS 1951) Larry Bushu (AHS 1955) Phillip Dean Sanders (AHS 1956) Patrick Hugh Monahan (AHS 1958) Robert Terry Miller (AHS 1964)

# 2015 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

Edward M. Finfgeld (AHS 1920) Thomas F. Monahan (AHS 1927) Robert D. Curry (AHS 1957) Roger Shields (AHS 1961) Larry B. Rollings (AHS 1963) Karen J. Conlin Faler (AHS 1966) Don Paul Portugal (AHS 1969) Michael A. Clark (AHS 1972)

# 2016 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

Robert E. Smith, D.D.S. (AHS 1955) Thomas F. "Tim" Monahan, Jr. (AHS 1957) Charles Edward Harshbarger, Jr., Ph.D (AHS 1958)

#### 2024 DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI CRITERIA

Capt. Benjamin J. "Jim" Binford, USN (Ret.) (AHS 1959) David J. Ellison, Ph.D. (AHS 1959) Nancy K. Van Cleave, Ph.D. (AHS 1971)

# **2017 Distinguished Alumni Honorees**

Capt. John D. Kibler (AHS 1932) Raymond Arthur "Art" Beazley (AHS 1959) John Andrew "Andy" Walton, Jr. (AHS 1962) Cheryl S. Holaday Hilgenberg (AHS 1966) Gail Chaney Kalinich (AHS 1980)

# 2018 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

Lt. Col. Edmund P. Smart (AHS 1952) John Douglas "Doug" Mullikin (AHS 1958) Charles "Skip" Lee (AHS 1968) Steven Earl Bumpus (AHS 1978) John VanGundy "Van" King (AHS 1979)

# 2023 Distinguished Alumni Honorees

William Robert "Bob" Fortney (AHS 1944) Virginia L. Fortney (AHS 1952) John V. "Jack" Fishel (AHS 1956) John G. "Corky" Clark (AHS 1962) Dennis R. "Denny" Thompson (AHS 1968)

#### 2024 DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI CRITERIA

The selection of the annual Arcola Distinguished Alumni award(s) shall be guided by the following criteria:

Any Arcola High School graduate, living or deceased, may be nominated.

The graduation date of the nominee must be at least twenty years prior to induction. Exceptions may only be made in extraordinary circumstances by a majority of the selection committee.

The number of graduates chosen for the honor may be sizable in the early years of the award. A maximum number of annual award winners may then be determined in subsequent years.

Nominee has used education and/or life experiences to become a successful, positive contributor to society.

Nominee has record of significant contribution to his/her chosen field following graduation.

Nominee has exhibited continued leadership, character, service and dedication in his/her community, and/or has continued to support the Arcola community after leaving the Arcola area.

All nominees not selected will remain in consideration for the following ten years. While it is not necessary to resubmit a nomination form each year, forms for prior recommendations may be updated.

Arcola Alumni Assn. Board Members:

John Fishel
Randy Rothrock
Sue Stout
Brad Pullen
Robert N. Arrol, M.D.
Larry Bushu
Carolyn Cloyd
Kendall Moore
Judy Thomas